About Us

About Us

HEN is a diverse and growing group, comprising Academy members, international RDs and DTRs, student members, Friends of HEN (individual and corporate), networks, and sponsors.


HEN Vision

HEN members optimize the nation’s health by promoting access to nutritious food and clean water from a secure and sustainable food system.

HEN Mission

To empower members to be leaders in sustainable and accessible food and water systems.


HEN defines sustainability as, "A sustainable and resilient food system [that] conserves and renews natural resources, advances social justice and animal welfare, builds community wealth, and fulfills the food and nutrition needs of all eaters now and in the future" (Harmon A. & Tagtow A., 2008).

Take a closer look at HEN's Guiding Principles (pdf).

Our History

HEN has had many great members and leaders who have contributed to a rich and colorful history. The full HEN DPG history can be viewed here.