HEN Webinar: Fighting Climate Change with Diet Change: Our Call to Action

Event Date: Apr 22, 2020

Title:  "Fighting Climate Change with Diet Change:  Our Call to Action"

Date: April 22, 2020

Time: 12:00 p.m. PT | 1:00 p.m. MT | 2:00 p.m. CT | 3:00 p.m. ET

CEUs pending

Click here to register:  https://ams.eatright.org/eweb/DynamicPage.aspx?webcode=EventInfo&Site=ACAD2014&Reg_evt_key=b2184929-2076-42f3-93b3-ec857544cefa&RegPath=EventRegFees

Join HEN and VN in a joint webinar on Earth Day!  

As we recognize the 50th anniversary of Earth Day and usher in a new decade with the urgent call for swift action to mitigate environmental degradation, we bear witness to the warmest decade on record.  Multi-billion dollar climate disasters are commonplace.  The loss of biodiversity, which underpins food and nutrition, is bewildering.  Sea ice is melting, the ocean is warming, carbon emissions are climbing, and the threat of antibiotic resistance remains constant.  In this era of extreme environmental concern where the scientific data points to food choices and food systems as drivers of environmental destruction—they are also solutions.  Indeed, dietetics professionals that are leaders in sustainable and accessible food and water systems and plant-based nutrition are perfectly positioned to lead the charge to improve planetary health.  From soil to seed to kitchen cabinet and beyond, please join Dr. Hawkins on Earth Day 2020 for a HEN-VN DPG collaborative webinar as she delineates the multitude of ways dietetics professionals can simultaneously cook up co-benefits that are critical solutions for planetary health.